The “I think you’re really pretty” text / Beauty Standards

Wow… Thanks, I guess.

Don’t get me wrong, I think that compliments are great. That’s what they are made for – great things: to improve our self-esteem, to make us feel better about ourselves. But, sometimes, there is just something… off?

It’s been a couple of days into summer, and I got a friend request on a popular photo-sharing app (I would prefer not to name it, but I am pretty sure we are all familiar with it). I know the person, we go to the same school, and I had him in one of my classes. We start sharing photos just like normal people would do on the app without really having a conversation. One evening, I send a picture to my friends, using a face filter. A few minutes later, I get a picture with a text on it. From the title of this post, you have probably already guessed what message I got on a plain black background.

And, you know, it just did not seem right to me. Yes, it is a really nice thing to tell a girl. But you have had the whole school year, which you have spent without talking to her. And now, when she sends you a picture of her without any intentions, looking cute with little cat ears on her head and glorious eyelashes, you tell her that she is pretty?

As stated in the Wikipedia article about beauty standards, the feminine beauty ideal is “the socially constructed notion that physical attractiveness is one of women’s most important assets and something all women should strive to achieve and maintain”. People consider facial/body/physical features as the main attractive thing in women. And, I get it. Women do that to men, too. The figure/the face is the first thing you see when you look at the person (not counting the ideal times when you hear a voice/speech with a message first and get to know the person because of the common interest, not because of the fact of them being cute). It is just how humans are. But, while being attracted to someone who we consider pretty/handsome, we might not have anything in common and there might be no point in a relationship.

Despite this fact, have you ever noticed how many people are having a relationship with people they barely now just because it is cool/expected from them? I guess that the person mention above wanted.

You probably want to know how I reacted to the message : D I ignored it. Some of you might consider it childish and stupid. But I did not want to continue sharing anything with someone who you barely know calls you pretty over the text. I just want to spend my summer relaxing and without worrying about boys. There is a whole next year for that ; )

Here is my little story! Hope you liked it and took away something for yourself : ) It’s summertime, and I hope you are enjoying it. Let me know what you think about that kind of messages and about your summer plans! Thanks for reading ♡

P.S. a little add-on: here’s a clip from my favorite animated movie as a child. I think it definitely fits this post’s theme!

xx wb

6 thoughts on “The “I think you’re really pretty” text / Beauty Standards

Add yours

      1. Yeahh. So hey, I just wanted to let you know that your blog is great. Your ideas are inspiring and bring some meaning to life. 😃 That is why I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! ☺ The information can be found on my blog. You might want to check it out to see what to do. 😃 Good luck!!! ❤
        Xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

